On October 28, 2019, the Division of Sleep Medicine held its 18th Annual Sleep and Health Benefit Dinner in the Harvard Club of Boston on Commonwealth Avenue. The dinner was preceded by the Division of Sleep Medicine Annual Poster Session. Charles A. Czeisler, MD, PhD, Baldino Professor of Sleep Medicine, Director of the Division of Sleep Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Chief of the Division of Sleep and Circadian Disorders in the Department of Medicine at Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston, Massachusetts, was awarded the 2019 Peter C. Farrell Prize in Sleep Medicine for his contributions to the field of Sleep Medicine. Clif Saper, MD, PhD, James Jackson Putnam Professor of Neurology and Neuroscience at Harvard Medical School and Chair and Head of the Department of Neurology at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, presented opening remarks prior to the presentation of the awards.

Support for the 2019 Sleep and Health Benefit Dinner was generously provided by Peter C. Farrell, Ph.D., the ResMed Corporation and the following individuals and organizations:


  • Vanda Pharmaceuticals


  • Johnson & Johnson


  • Philips Home Care Solutions


  • Jeanne Duffy, PhD
  • Christopher Landrigan, MD
  • Robert Thomas, MD


  • Jazz Pharmaceuticals
  • Cerevel Therapeutics
  • Elda Arrigoni, PhD
  • Orfeu Buxton, PhD
  • Anne-Marie Chang, PhD
  • Kim Cornish, PhD
  • Lawrence J. Epstein, MD
  • Daniel Gottlieb, MD, MPH
  • Kun Hu, PhD
  • Stefanos Kales, MD, MPH
  • Jonathan Lipton, MD, PhD
  • Stuart Quan, MD
  • Susan Redline, MD, MPH
  • Russell Sanna, PhD
  • Clifford Saper, MD, PhD
  • Frank Scheer, PhD
  • Robert Strecker, PhD
  • Eve Van Cauter, PhD

Support in 2019 for the Harvard Medical School Division of Sleep Medicine Sleep Grand Rounds Program was generously provided by the following individuals and organizations:

  • Harmony Biosciences, LLC
  • Jazz Pharmaceuticals
  • Regional Home Care
  • NeuroCare, Inc.

For over 21 years, support for the Harvard Medical School Training Program in Sleep, Circadian and Respiratory Neurobiology administered by the Brigham and Women’s Hospital has been provided by a training grant from the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute. 

We would like to express our deepest appreciation for the support of these individuals and organizations.

Read the Division of Sleep Medicine's COI policy regarding this event.

See more information about the 2019 Harvard Medical School Division of Sleep Medicine Prize Winner.

Dr. Czeisler receiving award from Dr. Saper
Dr. Czeisler
Dr. Czeisler
Drs. Czeisler and Saper
Drs. Czeisler, Shanahan, Wellman