The 2003 Sleep and Health Benefit Dinner directed attention to the widespread problem of sleep-disordered breathing (sleep apnea), and the health consequences of this debilitating condition. The 2003 Annual Prize in Sleep Medicine was awarded in celebration of the life and work of Michel Jouvet, MD.

Dr. Joseph B. Martin, Harvard Medical School Dean, made the welcome address, and David P. White, MD gave an engaging presentation on the problem of sleep disordered breathing. 

Support for the 2003 Sleep and Health Benefit Dinner was generously provided by the following individuals and organizations:

Underwriter Cephalon, Inc  
Benefactors Pfizer Global Pharmaceuticals, 
     US Pharmaceuticals
Respironics, Inc
Sanofi-Synthelabo, Inc

Sepracor, Inc
Takeda Pharmaceuticals
     North America
Patrons GlaxoSmithKline
Hypnion, Inc
Jordan's Furniture
MPM Capital
Pfizer Healthcare Division
ResMed, Inc
Sponsors Bristol-Myers Squibb Co, 
     Raymond Sanchez, MD
King Koil Sleep Products
Merck Research Laboratories
Sealy Mattress Company
Leaders American Academy of Sleep
     Medicine, Jerome A. Barrett
Sue & Walter Cahners
John W. Cronin, MD
Charles A. Czeisler, PhD, MD
Sumner Feldberg
Angela Foss
George & Nancy Kidder
Elizabeth B. Klerman, PhD, MD
Christopher Landrigan, MD
Robert W. McCarley, MD
Janet Mullington, PhD
Stephen J. & Roberta L. Paris
James J. Quattrochi, PhD
SleepCare, LLC
Robert E. Strecker, PhD
J. Woodrow Weiss, MD
David P. White, MD
John W. Winkelman, MD, PhD

We would like to express our deepest appreciation for their support.