Michael Young

Michael W. Young, PhD
Richard and Jeanne Fisher Professor
The Rockefeller University

On October 29, 2018, the Division of Sleep Medicine's annual Peter C. Farrell Prize in Sleep Medicine was awarded to Michael W. Young, Ph.D., Richard and Jeanne Fisher Professor, Vice President for Academic Affairs, The Rockefeller University along with Michael Rosbash, Ph.D., Peter Gruber Endowed Chair in Neuroscience, Professor of Biology, and Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Brandeis University for their contributions to the field of Sleep Medicine.

Awarded in celebration of the life and work of Professor Michael W. Young for his landmark discoveries in the field of circadian rhythms, which for the first time revealed the inner workings of our biological clocks. Professor Young’s pioneering contributions have reshaped our understanding of biological timekeeping and the profound role it plays in physiology and behavior.

The many notable findings of Professor Young and colleagues include:

  • Cloning and characterization of the period gene in Drosophila, the first circadian clock gene to be identified in any organism.
  • Discovering the timeless gene and its essential role in the circadian clock and in the function and nuclear import of the PERIOD protein.
  • Discovering the double-time gene and its role in the circadian clock and in the circadian cycle of the PERIOD protein.

Harvard Medical School
Division of Sleep Medicine
2018 Peter C. Farrell Prize in Sleep Medicine Recipient

See more information about the 2018 Sleep and Health Benefit Dinner.