Charles CzeislerCharles A. Czeisler, Ph.D., M.D., F.R.C.P.
Frank Baldino, Jr., Ph.D. Professor of Sleep Medicine
   Professor of Medicine and
   Director, Division of Sleep Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Chief, Division of Sleep and Circadian Disorders,
   Departments of Medicine and Neurology, Brigham & Women's Hospital
Director, Sleep Matters Initiative

On October 28, 2019 at the Sleep and Health Benefit Dinner, the Division's Peter C. Farrell Prize in Sleep Medicine was awarded to Professor Charles Czeisler in celebration of his life's works and achievements: for his landmark discoveries in the field of human circadian rhythms; his tireless advocacy of sleep and circadian health on the public stage affecting the lives of shift workers and those, including physicians, with prolonged work hours; and his establishment of sleep research and training programs both at Harvard and nationally, which have enriched the lives and education of so many trainees. Professor Czeisler has helped to establish circadian rhythm and sleep research as an integral part of the advancement of human health and well-being. His contributions to the field have transformed the manner in which both scientists and the public regard the important influence that sleep and circadian rhythms have in human physiology.

Among the many groundbreaking accomplishments of Professor Czeisler:

  • Establishment of light as the preeminent zeitgeber of the human circadian clock
  • Discovery of circadian responses to light in individuals without vision
  • Determination of the intrinsic period of human circadian rhythms
  • Identifying the effects of long work hours on performance by physicians in training, which led to the establishment of national limits on resident work hours
  • Championing the effect of sleep loss and circadian disruption on a range of public policy issues, from drowsy driving to school start times, and redesigning the rest cycles for professional athletes
  • Establishing and leading the Division of Sleep Medicine at Harvard University

Harvard Medical School
Division of Sleep Medicine

2019 Peter C. Farrell Prize in Sleep Medicine Recipient

See more information about the2019 Sleep and Health Benefit Dinner.